Registration or Filing Required?
Yes (Registration)

Business Opportunity Laws?

Virginia is a franchise registration state. Before offering or selling a franchise in Virginia, franchisors must register and file their FDD with the Virginia State Corporation Commission. Virginia’s franchise law, known as the Virginia Retail Franchising Act, Section 13.1-557, et. seq. of the Code of Virginia, regulates the registration, offer, and sale of franchises within the state and regulates the relationship between franchisor and franchisee. The Securities and Retail Franchising Division of Virginia’s State Corporation Commission oversees the implementation and enforcement of Virginia’s franchise laws.

Virginia FDD registration must be renewed 30 days prior to the one year anniversary of your registration date. However, this does not negate your obligation to update your FDD on an annual basis within 120 days of the end of your fiscal year. In such instances if your 120 day annual renewal period is out of sync with your Virginia registration / renewal date, i.e., your Virginia registration has not yet expired, you may file a FDD registration amendment application.